Myeong Dong, Dongdaemun, Itaewon, Gangnam AND Xmas Dinner

Hello Hello!

So last weekend was the weekend before xmas. After finding out that my work would be keeping me on until the end of the semester I felt much better, and had a great weekend.

I woke up early and made my way into MyeongDong, a large shopping district in Seoul, with stores such as: Zara, Mango, Puma, Adidas etc etc (your regular shopping center back home). I went in to find myself some pairs of leggings! I love leggings and only have one old, stretched out pair. Plus, with it being winter and knowing that I will be working intensives and will be at school a lot, I wanted some more clothes that I would be really comfy in. Plus I hadnt bought myself a single piece of clothing since Id been here. So i figured I would treat myself at xmas time. After hitting up 4 stores, and not being able to find any PLAIN leggings, that werent metallic, or didnt have designs on them, I finally wound up at mango, and thankfully they had plain, comfy leggings, so I got 4 (black, blue, grey and brown).

Then I figured I would hit up Dongdaemun, a clothing market nearby. I had heard it was huge, and boy is it ever. And its not only clothes, they’ve got everything. And there are multiple buildings with multiple stories. You can get blankets, material, accessories, almost anything. However, trying to find something nice is like looking for a needle in a haystack.  There were vendors on all sides, the rows were only 3 ft wide, there were a million people and you could walk for miles. It was too much for me, and I just dont have the patience to walk around all day shopping.

Outside of the market:

IMG_1080IMG_1084

IMG_1085

The one good thing I found in Dongdaemun:

IMG_1079

I thought i’d snap a photo of the street food vendors:

IMG_1083

And the disco jump (some ride they have in suwon also, that makes  you sick and they literally try to get you thrown off) I refuse to go on:

IMG_1081

So I left, and headed to Itaewon. We were all meeting up at this Mexian resto for 4 in the afternoon. Its a trendy place and 4Pm was the only time we could get a reservation. It was definitely trendy, and so the food was expensive for the amount you got, but it was good. I had 3 shrimp tacos (teeny tiny) and ordered myself a starter of taquitos afterwards. I also began with a classic margarita, and then had a peach margarita to finish off.

We walked out at around 6, and the rest of the gang went to screen golf and had a few more drinks but I took off. I was pretty tired and wasnt in the mood to keep drinking. I was going to go straight home, but as I hadnt found any long shirts at Dongdaemun to go with my leggings, I decided to stop at Gangnam on the way back and check out their underground shops.

Now the large majority of these places do not have any changing rooms. So I had come prepared and worn a tank top under my shirt so I could try stuff on. The first place I went to let me, which was great, I bought the shirt I tried on.  But then I checked out a million other places, and none of them would let me try on any of the shirts, and I simply refuse to buy something without trying it on first. Finally, I just stopped asking if I could try it on, and just started pulling on shirts over my head. Good thing I did, because I found a shirt I liked, even though I got scolded for trying it on.

When I got back to Jukjeon I figured I would pick up my groceries while I was there, instead of heading back in the morning. I needed to get chocolates and candies for my kids for xmas week, and I also needed to get some stuff for our christmas supper on Sunday. When i got home, as tired as I was, I decided to make 2 batches of brownies, one for supper the next night, and one to bring into school on monday.

So sunday I got up and was able to go to the laundrymat, pick up a few things for secret santa gifts, wrap the gifts, make the chicken, take a shower, and put on my santa hat.

We had  a great dinner, with chicken, cranberry sauce, gravy, stuffing, 2 types of mashed potatoes, roast potatoes, broccoli, carrots, green beans, bread rolls and yorkshire puddings. And for dessert, we had brownies and christmas pudding, which we doused in brandy and lit on fire. It was a great night.

Oh and Sydney’s Toffee:

IMG_1086IMG_1087

IMG_1091IMG_1088IMG_1089

Monday was chill, seeing as I only have class from 7-10. And we were going to watch xmas movies on xmas eve, but just got together and chilled. At 12, we toasted to xmas by opening a bottle of champagne. Some of the group had gone to costco on saturday and gotten a bunch of stuff for our supper and brunch.

We woke up xmas morning and made french toast and omelletes, and had a few mimosas. Then went into school early to do the gift exchange. And tuesday night I got to come home and skype with my family(ies).

My friend Sydney made a good point the other day. As much as I miss my family, and would have loved to be with them at xmas, I am very lucky to have so many people to miss. And I am lucky to have people here with whom I was able to celebrate the holidays with.

So, it was a very good xmas, and it has been a great week so far. We found out that we actually have New Years Day off, so we are trying to figure out what we want to do for New Years Eve. That does mean however, that we work on the Sat following, so I will have to postpone my trip to the DMZ.

This weekend, we are going to celebrate Arnecias bday. And the weekend after next (when we work), we will be celebrating Charlies b-day. I hope to go to the DMZ after that and then eventually the Penis Park.

Its crazy, before I know it, its going to be Feb and I will be packing for my trip south! Time flies!

So I hope everyone had a wonderful xmas and I wish everyone a very Happy New Year!!!

Hugs and Kisses! as always! xoxo

Oh and here is something I got from one of my students:

IMG_1076IMG_1077

IMG_1078

3 thoughts on “Myeong Dong, Dongdaemun, Itaewon, Gangnam AND Xmas Dinner

  1. Hey there Sara……hope you had a nice Christmas – different, I’m sure, but sounds like you enjoyed yourself. Things were different for us as well, as my sister moved to Calgary this summer, so they weren’t with us. We skyped, and that makes it about as live as you can get, but it’s not quite the same. Looking forward to enjoying the holidays with the girls, and still need to celebrate with your parents. Wishing you all the best for the New Year and best of luck with whatever 2013 holds for you! Lots of love, Tammy and family…..xoxoxo

    • Thanks for the christmas wishes you guys! Gotta love Skype at the holidays, but no, it’s definitely not the same. Can’t believe it is almost 2013, but excited about what it holds! Hope you guys enjoy your time off and wish you all the best in the coming New Year! Lots of love! xox

  2. I think I should have a “wine house” lol love the blog hun and Sydney is right , we all miss you and it was, kind of an odd xmas- but it was still a good xmas xoxox …and we are snowed in today , so thats awesome!! chat later
    mom

Leave a Reply

